Week 1… OVER!

YAY! I am officially done with week one of the Spring in2 Action challenge. It was a hard week. It usually is. For those that don’t know, I work at a nursing home. I am there all day on Sunday, Monday, and most of Tuesday. And to tell you the truth it gets hard when I am making them food, to stick to a diet. I almost always end up eating a bit of what I make for them. Mind you its not bad for you, but its not going to help me either. And I am tired enough from my minute to minute work that I don’t want to add making another meal when I am trying to make theirs by a certain time.

So, in spite of all that, I still lost. It wasn’t a huge week, but it was great for me. I lost 3.6 lbs to be exact. And that in its self is pretty good. But the thing that I am most happy about is the 1.5 inches that I lost from my bustline. Now I only have 2 more to go. I lost another half inch off of my waist and my hips too. The push ups were hard, but I found time to fit them in… and I maxed out at 6, but that is ok. I will go farther next week.

My weakness has been sweets. I want something sweet. Ok…. I NEED something sweet right now! but I am trying the moment by moment method from the sisterhood. We’ll see how far I get. I have not been great with the follow through in the past. But this is important. All of these things add up to pictures that I will have forever in my beautiful wedding dress. And past that, I will be healthy and able to have a peanut with my hunny.

What has worked for me:

Yesterday Elle and Lindsay over at Prior Fat Girl inspired me to play 10 things with myself. Its a little mental game that packs a big punch. Lets say you want something. Like, I want my sweet thing…. SO BADLY! So you say, “Ok… You can have your sweet stuff, if you can’t name 10 things that you want more than said landmine.” And I started to think. There are things that I want so much more. And here was the list that I came up with:

  1. Be able to wear my wedding dress
  2. Be able to fit into rehearsal dinner dress
  3. To lower my dose of metformin
  4. Be able to wear a bathing suit in public on my honeymoon
  5. To wake up without back pain
  6. Be able to get pregnant and hold onto said pregnancy
  7. Wear sexy underthings
  8. Be able to run a 5k without walking
  9. To hold onto that great feeling I get when the scale goes down
  10. Be able to look back at our wedding pictures and not be disappointed with myself. I want to be able to say that I was healthy.

So, does eating something sweet and probably not too good for me get me anywhere closer to any of these goals? No! Its does not! Of course I can eat something sweet and still get to these goals, but if we have learned nothing over the years, its that I have no control. One cookie will turn into 5, a trip to Jack-in-the-Crack for a small shake will become a large and a burger with fries. So…. No. I will not eat that sweet thing. Because getting closer to the things on that list is more important than a little bit of instant gratification.

Well, its time for me to sign off for the day. I need to figure out what I am making for the hunny when he gets home from work. I am thinking something with whole wheat rotini and vegies sounds yummy.

TTFN,

M

Tags:

3 Comments to “Week 1… OVER!”

  1. Great Job this week, 3.6 pounds is an awesome start!

  2. Good going! Keep it up!

  3. I love the 10 things! I need to do that.

Leave a Reply

